Review: Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish

January 19, 2015 4 stars, Book Review 28 ★★★★

Review: Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi CharishOwl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish
Series: The Adventures of Owl #1
Published by Simon & Schuster Canada on january 13, 2015
Genres: Adult SFF, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 432
Source: Author
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon

*This book was provided by the Author for review. No compensation was provided and all opinions are strictly my own.

Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world.

Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix—better known now as Owl—has one rule. No supernatural jobs. Ever. Until she crosses paths with Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon who owns and runs the Japanese Circus Casino in Las Vegas. He insists Owl retrieve an artifact stolen three thousand years ago, and makes her an offer she can’t refuse: he’ll get rid of a pack of vampires that want her dead. A dragon is about the only entity on the planet that can deliver on Owl’s vampire problem – and let’s face it, dragons are known to eat the odd thief.

Owl retraces the steps of Mr. Kurosawa’s ancient thief from Japan to Bali with the help of her best friend, Nadya, and an attractive mercenary. As it turns out though, finding the scroll is the least of her worries. When she figures out one of Mr. Kurosawa’s trusted advisors is orchestrating a plan to use a weapon powerful enough to wipe out a city, things go to hell in a hand basket fast…and Owl has to pick sides.

four-stars

No ones going to miss this priceless artifact

Owl and the Japanese Circus stars a young but accomplished artifacts thief formerly a jilted archaeology student named Owl. She’s made quite the name for herself and while she has loads of money she isn’t really able to enjoy it because she is constantly on the move and run from a cabal of nasty vampires that want her dead. Luckily, or maybe unlucky for her the latest job she just pulled wants to enlist her services again in finding a scroll. She takes the hob in exchange for the employers protection from the vampires. Did I forget to mention he’s an ancient red Dragon and owner of a Japanese Circus themed casino in Las Vegas? Much globe trotting and action then ensues.

I’d kiss you but I have intimacy issues

Owl is a girl with issues of the trust, heavy paranoia and intimacy kind. Sounds to me like things any run of the mill thief would have personal problems with.​ Her issues come into play quite a bit in her interactions with her friends and especially with the one she has feelings for. Of course she is wanting to avoid those feelings. But Rynn seems pretty determined that their friendship isn’t going to stay as just that. Oh yes her friends…She really just has two friends, ok three​. One is a MMO video gamer buddy that she’s never met in real life​ but she spends just as much time with this friend as she does this others because Owl is a major gamer. When she isn’t on the run she is snatching game time playing the RPG online World Quest whenever she can – and just as in real like she is a thief.. But her two in life friends both live in Japan and work at various night clubs. One, Nad​ya​, as ​an owner ​of a club ​and the other, Rynn, ​works ​as a bartender/host​ at another club.​

​​You better give the dragon what he wants or you might be lunch

​Basically the main story is Owl getting her two friends mixed into her problem of having to find this scroll for the red dragon Mr. Kurosawa. He won’t take no for an answer but at least he’s promised to keep the vampires off her back if she follows through and delivers the scroll to him.

​Oh Mr vampire your sweat is so….Intoxicating?

​Too bad for ​Owl that along every step of the way​ of her mission to find the scroll​, from Vegas to Japan, Bali and San Francisco she is still dogged by vampires. But these vampires don’t seem to be the ones she’s had problems with before – or at least all of them aren’t.​​ There is a nice bit of different in this typical Urban Fantasy world that makes it fresh by the different species of creatures you’ll see and the ones you’re used to seeing have quirks to their nature that makes getting to know them via Owl an interesting experience. I really liked the addition of types of supernaturals that I don’t typically encounter in other UF novels. Like Kami spirits, Nagas, Luck demons, I think nymphs if I remember correctly and there might be more.

​A great first bite

While Owl and the Japanese Circus did have some minor things that irked me throughout the reading overall (mostly I wanted to face punch Owl quite a few times for her behavior, but aside from those times I thought she was a pretty cool character) it was a fun and fast paced urban fantasy read that sets up a new world rather well and yet if you are content to read just the one I think would be fine as a stopping point as well. ​​​Definitely a book worth checking out if you’re a lover or urban fantasy.​

Stalk me!

Tabitha (Pabkins)

When I'm in the zone I can flip book pages faster than the eye can see - screaming "More Input!" I'm a book, yarn, & art supply hoarding goblin who loves to draw, make toys and craft all sorts of creepy cute things. My current habit is to listen to audio books while I'm arting it up!
Stalk me!
Don't be selfish...You should Share this!:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on RedditDigg thisPrint this pageShare on LinkedInShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someoneFlattr the author

28 Responses to “Review: Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish”

  1. Melliane

    I’m glad to see you had a good time with a book. I really liked it as well and I’m quite curious to read the sequel to see how it is. So many things in this one and so many places, I loved that. Great review!
    Melliane recently posted…Willful Child by Steven EriksonMy Profile

  2. Lynn

    Haha, I can’t believe you said you wanted to ‘face punch’ her! So funny!!!
    It’s quite a good book and I will definitely continue with the series but I know what you mean about Owl!
    Lynn 😀
    Lynn recently posted…The end, goodbye!My Profile