Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

April 20, 2015 3 stars, Book Review 11 ★★★

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa GreyThe Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
Series: The Girl at Midnight #1
Published by Delacorte Press on April 28, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads

*This book was provided by the Publisher for review. No compensation was provided and all opinions are strictly my own.

For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo'sShadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

three-stars

The Girl at Midnight was an enjoyable read with interesting characters and two ancient fantasy races that seem like they have always been at war. Both races are humanoid but one is based on dragons, the Drahkarin and the other on birds, the Avicen. These different yet similar races were the best part of the book for me.

The story at large

It mostly follows Echo who is a teenage human girl that was adopted when she was 7 by The Ala, one of the oldest of the Avicen. She is sent in search of the prophesied firebird that is supposedly capable of stopping the war.

What went right

– ancient races at war, the Drahkarin and Avicen races background had me really curious and aching for more information
– cool sounding history and magic, oh and teleport magic! They visited various places around the world – but I needed more
– fun quirky characters where we have some diversity, portrayed thru feather color, skin tone as well as sexual orientation
– an appreciation for books, libraries and occasionally Echo would think of strange words that had almost poetic meanings (I really enjoyed the words and their meanings)

What the story really was

Angst, romance and oh some more angst. Your beautiful eyes, shiny scales, lustrous feathers….half smile. I could go on. I’m not kidding you when I say I drew a little spiderweb connecting all the eyes that were made between or at various characters. At least it wasn’t the typical triangle we frequently see rolled out in many YA novels. And I could even believe it possible since everybody has the hots for somebody else when you’re a teenager, BUT! two of these guys are supposed to be over 250 years old. So I’m sad to say the plot suffers heavily due to all of the romance.

Where’d it go wrong?

– the tangled web of romance and googley eyes. View Spoiler »See what I mean?!
– the too predictable plotline. It was much too obvious what was going to happen with Echo, the Dragon Prince Caius, his sister and his lost love and the firebird
– personally, and I’m sure many readers won’t have a problem with this point at allView Spoiler »

I believe many young adult readers will likely love The Girl at Midnight. And despite some of its pitfalls I did enjoy the book and it’s characters.

Stalk me!

Tabitha (Pabkins)

When I'm in the zone I can flip book pages faster than the eye can see - screaming "More Input!" I'm a book, yarn, & art supply hoarding goblin who loves to draw, make toys and craft all sorts of creepy cute things. My current habit is to listen to audio books while I'm arting it up!
Stalk me!
Don't be selfish...You should Share this!:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on RedditDigg thisPrint this pageShare on LinkedInShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someoneFlattr the author

11 Responses to “Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey”

  1. maggie

    Once you have a firebird (phoenix) involved, rebirth is possible to me! Hopefully thought there is still transformation and growth. This one sounds fun to me!

  2. Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

    I’d had high hopes for this one and even though I know you liked *some* things about this one, your dislikes are ones shared by other bloggers and they seem to me like the kinds of things that would frustrate me to no end…like the romance thing and the, *ahem* death thing. o_O I think my biggest pet peeve would be when romance overtakes the plot of an otherwise promising book 🙁 Wonderful review Tabitha^^ x

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews
    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday #20My Profile

  3. Anne @ Lovely Literature

    Good review — I’m still curious about this though and will suffer through the romance, haha. And since I apparently didn’t read the synopsis about this very well ever, I didn’t realize the Avicen were an ancient bird race. That really reminds me of Rachel Bach’s Paradox series!
    Anne @ Lovely Literature recently posted…My all-time favorite authors!My Profile

  4. Mary @ BookSwarm

    While I really did enjoy this story, I really wanted Caius to be Echo’s dad rather than her lover from another mother (heh. Kidding on the mother thing.). I get squicked out with these super-old dudes creepin’ on the teen girls. Interesting way to get around that age difference but, yeah, the romance was heavy-handed.
    Mary @ BookSwarm recently posted…Top Off Tuesday: Midnight’s Kiss by Thea HarrisonMy Profile

  5. blodeuedd

    They are so obsessed these days to tells us that if we liked this and that we will like this one too. Those two makes sense but I saw this blurb with two books that had nothing in common and nothing in common with the book 😉
    blodeuedd recently posted…A Dance with Danger – Jeannie LinMy Profile

  6. Samantha @ Fabulous Fabris

    I’m working on a review of this one right now too. There were a couple of things about this book that I really liked, but I agree that I felt the overall story to be a little lackluster.
    Samantha @ Fabulous Fabris recently posted…Meet the FelinesMy Profile