Audiobook Review: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

September 7, 2015 4 stars, Audio Book, Book Review 4 ★★★★

Audiobook Review: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day GeorgeSilver in the Blood by Jessica Day George
Series: Silver in the Blood #1
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens, Recorded Books on July 7, 2015
Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 358
Length: 9 hours, 13 minutes
Narrator: Sandy Rustin
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate... or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.
four-stars

Silver in the Blood was such an enjoyable book. Admittedly it was a bit slow moving at time as there are many parts where it is just the girls traveling or going about their routines while traveling abroad but I think I liked it despite that because of the way there were frequent titles that were excerpts of correspondence between the two cousins or from the cousins to other people. It really added something to the book that gave it just the right touch. I found myself looking forward to these letters because it really cemented each of their personalities.

These cousins Dacia and Lou reminded me so much of the relationship between my sister and I. They are best friends and don’t like being parted from each other. They seem to share everything about their lives together. I loved the sisterly bond they had.

The romance(s)

Dacia has a roving eye. Whatever boy is in front of her will be the toast of her heart for the time being. I rather liked that about her. She has a lot of spunk and spirit which is very opposite of Lou who is quiet and contemplative and doesn’t like to go out the way Dacia does. They were such a great pairing of personalities and character traits. And just like their personalities their romances are completely different.

The scary cake of Family Secrets

Do you have a relative that just creeps you out – or that everyone is scared of? Well this grandma takes the cake. Not to mention their family secret is a doozy. Of course its obvious to us as the readers but I like the way the girls handle it and how things proceed. It takes awhile to get around to the action packed portion of the novel (which is probably my only and biggest complaint because I”m a bit of an adrenaline junkie). But once it gets there things fly by.

Thoughts on the narration

Sandy Rustin does a fine job at narrating for both the girls such that their individual personalities really shine through. The pacing is good and she has a knack for setting the atmosphere for the book.

Stalk me!

Tabitha (Pabkins)

When I'm in the zone I can flip book pages faster than the eye can see - screaming "More Input!" I'm a book, yarn, & art supply hoarding goblin who loves to draw, make toys and craft all sorts of creepy cute things. My current habit is to listen to audio books while I'm arting it up!
Stalk me!
Don't be selfish...You should Share this!:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on RedditDigg thisPrint this pageShare on LinkedInShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someoneFlattr the author

4 Responses to “Audiobook Review: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George”