Review: ALIVE by Scott Sigler

September 9, 2015 3 stars, Book Review 3 ★★★

Review: ALIVE by Scott SiglerAlive by Scott SIgler
Series: Generation Trilogy #1
Published by Del Rey, Empty Set Entertainment on July 14, 2015
Pages: 368
Length: 9 hours, 44 minutes
Narrator: Emma Galvin
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.
three-stars

ALIVE was an interesting book that took some getting used to at first. It’s a young adult novel that starts out reading on a middle grade level because all of the characters have the minds and maturity levels of 12 year olds in 19 year old bodies. It made for some really simple dialogue and sometimes repetitive observations from the characters. However, as the book progresses you see the kids maturing at a fast rate because something is special about them. What that is you have to continue to read to find out.

I heard it was best to go into this book as blind as possible and I definitely agree that is the best way to do it. While I had a little impatient of a start because of the maturity thing I ended up really enjoying the book. I think this will be one of those cases where I find the first book to be “Ok” but I have really high hopes for the second one because by now at the end of the first the kids are mature and so I think some of the foibles I had in ALIVE won’t be there in book 2.

While there isn’t any romance there sure is a lot of time where M spending her time agonizing over two boys. Sometimes that really peeved me but hey I guess that might be rather realistic so I can’t fault it. I’m interested to see what direction that takes because currently I think its the start of the dreaded love triangle and I really hate love triangles. Lately when that rears its head I just bow out of continuing on with a series but I’m totally going to stick it out with this one because I think it has some great potential.

 

 

Stalk me!

Tabitha (Pabkins)

When I'm in the zone I can flip book pages faster than the eye can see - screaming "More Input!" I'm a book, yarn, & art supply hoarding goblin who loves to draw, make toys and craft all sorts of creepy cute things. My current habit is to listen to audio books while I'm arting it up!
Stalk me!
Don't be selfish...You should Share this!:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on RedditDigg thisPrint this pageShare on LinkedInShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someoneFlattr the author

3 Responses to “Review: ALIVE by Scott Sigler”

    • Tabitha (Pabkins)

      Hopefully neither one of us will be disappointed =) I’m looking forward to seeing the alien world…I’m not looking forward to a possible love triangle.